Slacker Logo

Gautier Capuçon



Gautier Capuçon has risen quickly through the ranks, becoming one of the leading French cellists of the twenty first century by his 20th birthday. His brother is renowned violinist Renaud Capuçon, with whom he often collaborates in works like the Beethoven Triple Concerto and in various chamber works. Like Mstislav Rostropovich before him, Capuçon is also an accomplished pianist. But his keyboard tastes expand beyond the realm of classical music and include jazz. What is remarkable about Capuçon is what he has managed to accomplish so soon: by his mid-twenties he had won two important competitions and appeared on nearly 20 major recordings with artists like Martha Argerich, Myung-Whun Chung, Nicholas Angelich, Lilya Zilberstein, and many others. Amazingly, too, his choice of repertory has been broad, taking in standards by Haydn, Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Brahms, Saint-Saëns, Rachmaninov, Ravel, Prokofiev, Martinu, and lesser knowns from the twentieth century such as Erwin Schulhoff, Hanns Eisler, and Éric Tanguy. Capuçon has recorded for EMI, Virgin Classics, and TDK. Capuçon was born in Chambéry, France, on September 3, 1981. He began playing the cello at age four and the piano at seven. He enrolled at the École Nationale de Musique de Chambéry, where he studied both instruments. In his teens he studied at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, where his teachers included Annie Cochet-Zakine. After his 1997 graduation, he enrolled for further study at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris for three more years, with, among others, cello pedagogue Philippe Muller. While a student there Capuçon played cello in the European Union Youth Orchestra and the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester, and in 1999 he captured first prize in the André Navarra International Cello Competition. After graduation in 2000 Capuçon had further studies with Heinrich Schiff in Vienna. By then he was an active performer on the concert scene in Europe, appearing with major orchestras and conductors. Among his earliest recordings were a pair of acclaimed CDs: Haydn Concertos No. 1, 2 & 4 with Daniel Harding and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra on EMI, and, with his brother, a Virgin Classics album of duets entitled Face À Face featuring works by Kodály, Halvorsen, and others. In 2007 Capuçon married Delphine Borsarello, also a talented cellist. Capuçon's newer recordings include the 2008 Virgin Classics CD of sonatas for cello and piano by Prokofiev and Rachmaninov.
Read All Read Less

Top Tracks

  1.   Track
  2.   Quartet for Piano and Strings No. 2 in G minor Op. 45: Allegro molto featuring Nicholas Angelich
  3.   Deuxième Sonate Op.117: I. Allegro featuring Nicholas Angelich
  4.   Trio for Piano & Strings in D Minor Op.120: Andantino featuring Nicholas Angelich
  5.   Piano Trio No. 2 in E flat major D.929: III. Scherzando (Allegro molto) & Trio by Renaud Capuçon
  6.   Piano Trio No. 2 in E flat major D.929: IV. Allegro moderato by Renaud Capuçon
  7.   Notturno in E flat major D.897 by Renaud Capuçon
  8.   Duo pour violon et violoncelle: I.Moderato
  9.   Piano Trio No. 2 in E flat major D.929: I. Allegro by Renaud Capuçon
  10.   Hungarian folk melodies for violin and cello SZ: II Allegretto
  11.   Cello Concerto No. 1 in C Hob. VIIb:1: I. Moderato - Cadenza featuring Daniel Harding
  12.   Fantasiestücke, Op. 88~Romanze. Nicht schnell, mit innigem Ausdruck
  13.   Fünf Stücke im Volkston, Op. 102 (Five Pieces in folk style)~Nicht schnell, mit viel Ton zu spielen
  14.   Variations on One String on a Theme from Rossini's Mosè in Egitto
  15.   Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 107: I. Allegretto
  16.   Cello Concerto No. 1 in C Hob. VIIb:1: II. Adagio - Cadenza featuring Daniel Harding
  17.   Sonata for Cello and Piano Op. 119~Moderato - Andante dolce
  18.   Fantasiestücke, Op. 88~Finale. Im Marsch-Tempo
  19.   Piano Quintet in A 'The Trout' D667: I. Allegro vivace by Renaud Capuçon
  20.   Adagio and Allegro, Op. 70~Rasch und Feurig
  21.   Sonata for Cello and Piano Op. 119~Allegro, ma non troppo
  22.   5 Stücke im Volkston, Op. 102~3. Nicht schnell, mit viel Ton zu spielen by Frank Braley
  23.   Cello Concerto in A minor, Op. 129~Nicht zu schnell
  24.   Sonata No. 3 in A major, Op. 69~III. Adagio cantabile - Allegro vivace
  25.   Fantasiestücke, Op. 73~Rasch und mit Feuer
See All Songs

Related Stations & Specials