Slacker Logo

Herbert Grönemeyer



Perhaps best known to international audiences for his performance in Wolfgang Petersen's highly acclaimed film Das Boot, Herbert Grönemeyer is celebrated in his native Germany as one of the most successful rock singers of his generation. Born in Göttingen on April 12, 1956, Grönemeyer first earned attention as an actor, beginning his career in the 1977 German telefilm Die Geisel. His debut LP, Ocean Orchestra, appeared a year later to little notice, and the follow-up, Grönemeyer, attracted scant attention as well. In 1981, he landed the role of Lt. Werner in the World War II epic Das Boot, which emerged as an international commercial and critical hit, earning six Academy Award nominations. Grönemeyer nevertheless walked away from film to concentrate on his music career. In 1984, he signed to EMI and issued Bochum, which went on to become one of the biggest-selling German-language LPs in music history. A gravel-voiced, blue-collar stadium rocker best likened to American acts such as Bob Seger and John Mellencamp, Grönemeyer also favored topical lyrics that mirrored his growing influence as an activist. In the mid-'80s, he led protests against ozone-depleting CFC gases, and in 1992 founded the anti-racism group Ich Bin ein Ausländer (I Am a Foreigner). Albums including 1986's Sprünge and 1988's Ö kept Grönemeyer atop the German charts, and in 1991 he recorded his first English-language effort, Luxus, which failed to accurately translate the intricacies and nuances of his original lyrics. He became the first German act to appear on MTV Unplugged in 1995, and a year later again tried to crack the English-language market with Chaos. In the wake of 1998's Bleibt Alles Anders, Grönemeyer suffered extraordinary personal tragedy when his wife Anna and his brother Wilhelm both died of cancer within the same week; he dropped from sight in the weeks and months to follow, although in 1999 he co-founded his own label, Grönland, which boasted a vast and eclectic catalog including the complete output of the pioneering Krautrock outfit Neu! Grönemeyer finally resurfaced in 2002 with a new LP, Mensch, a deeply personal effort informed by his recent losses. The title track went on to become his first-ever number one single, and the album sold in excess of 3.2 million copies at home, making it one of Germany's highest-selling albums of all time. Time Magazine awarded Grönemeyer the title of "European Hero" in 2005 on behalf of his humanitarian efforts, which by this time included his work leading the Deine Stimme Gegen Armut (Your Voice Against Poverty) campaign. The following summer he recorded "Zeit Dass Sich Was Dreht" (Celebrate the Day), the official anthem of World Cup 2006. In 2007, he re-recorded What's All This, Luxus, and Chaos for an English audience, although the venture didn't prove as successful as his domestic career, which continued to blossom with the release of his twelfth album, aptly titled 12, that same year. 12's follow-up came four years later in the shape of Schiffsverkehr, which included a powerful title track that proved the singer had lost none of his musical passion. Released in March 2011, the album hit number one in both Germany and Switzerland, and Grönemeyer played in front of over half a million people while touring the album in 2011. Another English-language project was released in late 2012; titled I Walk, it included several re-recorded versions of previous material, and featured duets with Bono, Antony Hegarty, and James Dean Bradfield. A concert album, Live at Montreux 2012, closed out the year. Grönemeyer was relatively quiet during 2013, although he did appear on the duet "Brüder" with Thomas D. Dauernd Jetzt, released in late 2014, improved on the success of his previous German album Schiffsverkehr. It not only charted at number one in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland but also spent more than six months high on the German chart. ~ Jason Ankeny
Read All Read Less

Top Tracks

  1.   Track
  2.   Vollmond
  3.   Nur Noch So
  4.   Florian's Apartment
  5.   Annabel Meets Issa
  6.   Neuland
  7.   Kommentar Zu Lied 9
  8.   Stand der Dinge
  9.   Viel Zu Viel
  10.   Keine Heimat
  11.   Hartgeld
  12.   Mensch
  13.   La Bonifica
  14.   Bist du da
  15.   Where Did the Money Come From?
  16.   You're My Ears Jamal
  17.   Drive to the Exchange
  18.   The Sweets Tin
  19.   Kein Verlust
  20.   Zeit, Dass Sich Was Drehtutsche Version]
  21.   Will I Ever Learn
  22.   Bloss Geliebt
  23.   So Close to Falling
  24.   Flugzeuge im Bauch
  25.   Komm Zurück
  26.   Onur
  27.   Anna
  28.   All Die Jahre
  29.   Männer
  30.   Mambo
  31.   Flugzeuge im Bauch
  32.   Bist Du Taub
  33.   Halt Mich
  34.   Stück Vom Himmel
  35.   Bochum
  36.   White Arrogance
  37.   Full Moon
  38.   Der Weg
  39.   Reines Herz
  40.   Ich Dreh Mich Um Dich
  41.   Nach Mir
  42.   Annabel In Cell
  43.   Kommentar Zu Lied 5
  44.   Tanzen
  45.   Main Title
  46.   Wäre ich einfach nur feige
  47.   Let's Meet Somewhere New
  48.   Komm Zur Ruhr
  49.   Deine Liebe Klebt
  50.   Frag Mich Nicht
  51.   Spring Ins Wilde Leben
  52.   Kommentar Zu Lied 2
  53.   Abdullah Arrives
  54.   Ein Stück vom Himmel
  55.   Mit Gott
  56.   Before the Morning
  57.   Was Soll Das
  58.   Doppelherz/İki Gönlüm by BRKN
  59.   Kommentar Zu Lied 6
  60.   Erzähl mir von morgen
  61.   Lied 4 - Marlene
  62.   Der Löw
  63.   Mehr Geht Leider Nicht
  64.   Land unter
  65.   Selbstmitleid
  66.   Demo (Letzter Tag)
  67.   The Chalet
  68.   Du Bist Die
  69.   Ich Bin Wieder Soweit
  70.   Neue Welt
  71.   Chaos
  72.   Overtüre featuring NDR Hannover Pops Orchestra
  73.   Mut
  74.   Lebe mit mir los
  75.   Und immer
  76.   Wartezimmer der Welt
  77.   Verwandt
  78.   Der Held
  79.   Leichtsinn und Liebe
  80.   Fall der Fälle
  81.   Mein Lebensstrahlen
  82.   Warum
  83.   Sekundenglück
  84.   Kommentar Zu Lied 10
  85.   Kommentar Zu Lied 8
  86.   Kommentar Zu Lied 3
  87.   Kommentar Zu Lied 1
  88.   Window of My Eyes by Cuby & the Blizzards
  89.   La Bambola by Patty Pravo
  90.   Fang Mich An
  91.   Closing Theme
  92.   Stuck In Traffic
  93.   Signing the Agreement
  94.   Bachmann At Home
  95.   Minister of the Interior
  96.   Drive To Abdullah's
  97.   Chess
  98.   Up On the Roof
  99.   Leyla
  100.   After the Prayer Meeting
  101.   Opening Theme
  102.   End Credits
  103.   Filling the Bullets
  104.   1st Call to Pavel
  105.   Lied 6: Leb in Meiner Welt
  106.   The Tunnel
  107.   Keep Hurting Me
  108.   Lied 7: Zur Nacht
  109.   Zu dir
  110.   Lass es uns nicht regnen
  111.   Fernweh
  112.   Deine Zeit
  113.   Zeit, Dass Sich Was Dreht
  114.   Lied 2: Kopf Hoch, Tanzen
  115.   Your Love's Like Glue
  116.   She
  117.   Ich Hab' Dich Bloss Geliebt
  118.   I Want More
  119.   Hard Cash
  120.   Glück
  121.   Hallo, Was Macht'n Ihr
  122.   Etwas Warmes
  123.   Für Dich Da
  124.   Erwischt