Slacker Logo

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real



Singer, songwriter, and guitarist Lukas Nelson began his career at a young age touring with his father, country music icon Willie Nelson. After relocating from Paia, Hawaii in 2007 to attend college in Los Angeles, Nelson met drummer Anthony LoGerfo at a Neil Young concert. The two musicians began playing together, and by the end of 2008 they'd enlisted bassist Merlyn Kelly and percussionist Tato Melgar to form Promise of the Real. They quickly released a live EP called Live Beginnings to sell at their gigs. They were touring heavily by early 2009, including stints opening for Willie Nelson and B.B. King. Employing a mix of blues, reggae, roots, and straight-up American rock, they issued their first studio recording, the Brando's Paradise Sessions EP, which included artwork by Lukas' younger brother Micah Nelson. Micah's artwork, especially the peace sign logo from this EP, would become closely associated with all of the band's imagery and he soon began joining the band on-stage, painting during their live sets. Prior to the release of their self-titled debut LP, Kelly left the band and, after a couple of stand-in bassists, was replaced by Corey McCormick. The album further expanded on their diverse, multi-genre sound and included a guest vocal appearance by Willie Nelson on the song "Sound of Your Memory." Like Lukas' well-traveled father, the band seemed most comfortable on the road, playing over 200 shows in 2011, including major festival stops and television appearances on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno and The Late Show with David Letterman. Their second LP, Wasted, was released in 2012 and the band continued its heavy touring schedule, headlining its own shows and supporting John Fogerty for a stretch. In early 2015, it was announced that Lukas, Micah, and Promise of the Real would be backing up Neil Young on his next album. The politically charged collaborative album was called The Monsanto Years and arrived in June of that year; it was documented on the 2016 live album Earth. Just prior to the summer release of Earth, the Promise of the Real put out its third album, Something Real. That album was followed swiftly in August 2017 with Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real. Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real received a big promotional push that helped the album reach number two on Billboard's Country Album charts. The group's profile continued to rise throughout 2018 through their roles in feature films. The Promise of the Real played themselves in Paradox -- a Neil Young vehicle directed by Daryl Hannah -- and appeared on the soundtrack as well. Bigger still was Bradley Cooper's remake of A Star Is Born, which contained songs Nelson co-wrote with the film's star Lady Gaga and featured TPOTR as Cooper's supporting band. All this set up the June 2019 release of the band's second album for Concord, Turn Off the News (Build a Garden). ~ Timothy Monger
Read All Read Less

Top Tracks

  1.   Track
  2.   Something Real
  3.   High Times
  4.   Colorado
  5.   Old Familiar Pain
  6.   Find Yourself
  7.   Forget About Georgia by Lucius
  8.   Forget About Georgia
  9.   Start to Go
  10.   Set Me Down on a Cloud
  11.   My Own Wave
  12.   Already Great by Neil Young
  13.   Breath of My Baby
  14.   Just Outside of Austin
  15.   Frame of Mind
  16.   Giving You Away by Lucius
  17.   Life on Mars?
  18.   Fool Me Once
  19.   Toppers
  20.   If I Was the Ocean (encore)
  21.   Don't Take Me Back
  22.   Don't Want to Fly
  23.   Fathers and Mothers
  24.   The Joint
  25.   Turn Off the News (Build a Garden)
  26.   Carolina
  27.   If I Started Over
  28.   Runnin' Shine
  29.   Ugly Color
  30.   Big Box
  31.   Don't Lose Your Mind
  32.   Pali Gap/Hey Baby (New Riding Sun)
  33.   I Won't Fail Her
  34.   Can You Hear Me Love You?
  35.   Time Is...
  36.   Ain't No Answer
  37.   Golden Rule
  38.   Consider It Heaven
  39.   Let Go of Your Plans by Madison Ryann Ward
  40.   I'll Make Love to You Any Ol' Time
  41.   Surprise
  42.   High Class Trailer Park
  43.   2012 The Happy Ending
  44.   All the Pretty Horses
  45.   Sound of Your Memory
  46.   Peaceful Solution
  47.   Four Letter Word
  48.   Wasted
  49.   Wasn't That Great
  50.   A Rock Star Bucks a Coffee Shop
  51.   Wanted To Try
  52.   Hard To Love Me
  53.   L.A.
  54.   Running Away
  55.   The Awakening
  56.   The Truth
  57.   Heart of the Matter
  58.   Making a Case For Love
  59.   Mystery
  60.   Want Me Around
  61.   A New Day for Love
  62.   Die Alone
See Fewer Songs

Related Stations & Specials

Artists Related to
Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real

Willie Nelson


Steve Earle


Jamey Johnson


Ryan Bingham


Jason Isbell


Johnny Cash


Lukas Nelson


Hayes Carll


Guy Clark


Neil Young


Uncle Tupelo

See All Related Artists

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |