Slacker Logo

Murda Muzik

Mobb Deep 8/17/1999


After a three-year hiatus and numerous release date pushbacks, Mobb Deep got on their job once again with the punishing release of Murda Muzik. The duo, well-known for their lethal realism both in their infinitely dark yet moving beats and their stark and ruthless crime-rhyme lyrics, continued their grim odyssey with this, their fourth effort. Released amid so much watered-down product, Murda Muzik is an arguable masterpiece in the Puffy and Master P era. Mobb Deep once described their music as the sound of hypnotic thug life. An accurate description, for their music is more than just guns and herb smoking, it taps into the collective sense of fear and horror, the evil in men's hearts, and the struggle for good in the gardens of waste. Mobb music can make you cry, can make you scared, can amplify your inner rage; its depth allows for the gamut of emotional reactions. On this album, primary producer Havoc reached a high level of mastery in his production efforts, a truly signature style of deep bass grooves, piercing organs, ice-cold snare pops, melodic samples, and haunting orchestral snippets. Each song creates its own mood, whether it be a call to stop the violence on "Spread Love" or a call for full-throttle livin' on "I'm Goin' Out." Guest appearances by Raekwon, Lil' Kim, Lil' Cease, Cormega, Kool G. Rap, Eightball, and Infamous Mobb add texture to already bangin' tracks. The album overall can best be described as pure ear- and mind-twisting pleasure and pain. The album will affect you, get under your skin, make you rash up, and then salve you. Murda Muzik is a complete album and a renewal of the truly hardcore movement. ~ M.F. DiBella
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Intro Mobb Deep 0:44
  3. 2 Streets Raised Me Mobb Deep 4:31
  4. 3 What's Ya Poison Mobb Deep 3:45
  5. 4 Spread Love Mobb Deep 4:1
  6. 5 Let a Ho Be a Ho Mobb Deep 3:34
  7. 6 I'm Going Out Mobb Deep 3:43
  8. 7 Allustrious Mobb Deep 4:10
  9. 8 Adrenaline Mobb Deep 4:40
  10. 9 Where Ya From Mobb Deep 3:59
  11. 10 Quiet Storm [Remix] Mobb Deep 4:25
  12. 11 Where Ya Heart At Mobb Deep 4:24
  13. 12 Noyd Interlude Mobb Deep 0:20
  14. 13 Can't Fuck Wit Mobb Deep 4:11
  15. 14 Thug Muzik Mobb Deep 4:32
  16. 15 Murda Muzik Mobb Deep 4:8
  17. 16 The Realest Mobb Deep 4:17
  18. 17 U.S.A. (Aiiight Then) Mobb Deep 4:2
  19. 18 It's Mine Mobb Deep 4:22
  20. 19 Quiet Storm [remix] Mobb Deep 4:2

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |