Slacker Logo

Rust Never Sleeps


Other albums by Neil Young & Crazy Horse

  1. Children of Destiny
  2. Dead Man
  3. Solo Trans
  4. Peace Trail
  5. Year of the Horse


Rust Never Sleeps, its aphoristic title drawn from an intended advertising slogan, was an album of new songs, some of them recorded on Neil Young's 1978 concert tour. His strongest collection since Tonight's the Night, its obvious antecedent was Bob Dylan's Bringing It All Back Home, and, as Dylan did, Young divided his record into acoustic and electric sides while filling his songs with wildly imaginative imagery. The leadoff track, "My My, Hey Hey (Out of the Blue)" (repeated in an electric version at album's end as "Hey Hey, My My [Into the Black]" with slightly altered lyrics), is the most concise and knowing description of the entertainment industry ever written; it was followed by "Thrasher," which describes Young's parallel artistic quest in an extended metaphor that also reflected the album's overall theme -- the inevitability of deterioration and the challenge of overcoming it. Young then spent the rest of the album demonstrating that his chief weapons against rusting were his imagination and his daring, creating an archetypal album that encapsulated his many styles on a single disc with great songs -- in particular the remarkable "Powderfinger" -- unlike any he had written before. ~ William Ruhlmann
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 My My, Hey Hey (Out of the Blue) Neil Young & Crazy Horse 3:42
  3. 2 Thrasher Neil Young & Crazy Horse 5:33
  4. 3 Ride My Llama Neil Young & Crazy Horse 2:27
  5. 4 Pocahontas Neil Young & Crazy Horse 3:19
  6. 5 Sail Away Neil Young & Crazy Horse 3:44
  7. 6 Powderfinger Neil Young & Crazy Horse 5:27
  8. 7 Welfare Mothers Neil Young & Crazy Horse 3:47
  9. 8 Sedan Delivery Neil Young & Crazy Horse 4:36
  10. 9 Hey Hey, My My (Into the Black) Neil Young & Crazy Horse 5:11

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |