Slacker Logo

Great Gonzos! The Best of Ted Nugent

Ted Nugent 10/12/1999


When originally released in 1981, the ten-track Great Gonzos!: The Best of Ted Nugent was an expertly selected collection of Ted Nugent's best-known material. But with the advent of the CD, the length of albums could be stretched out, and such is the case with the 1999 reissue of Great Gonzos! All of the previous ten tracks are remastered and featured in all of their ferocious glory, as well as three extra tracks not included on the original: the exceptional instrumental from 1977, "Home Bound," plus the explosive rockers "Yank Me, Crank Me" and "Give Me Just a Little." While the Nuge is known primarily for his shorter compositions that are still classic rock radio favorites ("Cat Scratch Fever," "Just What the Doctor Ordered," "Free-for-All," "Dog Eat Dog"), his longer tracks are just as gripping ("Stranglehold," "Wango Tango," "Wang Dang Sweet Poontang"). The selections are taken mostly from Nugent's first three albums (his best work), but Great Gonzos! still neglects several standouts, such as "Hey Baby," "Live It Up," and "Out of Control." Still, Great Gonzos!: The Best of Ted Nugent remains an essential purchase for admirers of fine '70s-era hard rock. ~ Greg Prato
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Cat Scratch Fever Ted Nugent 3:37
  3. 2 Just What the Doctor Ordered Ted Nugent 3:39
  4. 3 Free-For-All Ted Nugent 3:18
  5. 4 Dog Eat Dog Ted Nugent 4:1
  6. 5 Motor City Madhouse Ted Nugent 4:23
  7. 6 Paralyzed Ted Nugent 4:8
  8. 7 Stranglehold Ted Nugent 8:23
  9. 8 Baby Please Don't Go Ted Nugent 5:52
  10. 9 Wango Tango Ted Nugent 4:48
  11. 10 Wang Dang Sweet Poontang Ted Nugent 6:26
  12. 11 Yank Me, Crank Me Ted Nugent 4:37
  13. 12 Homebound Ted Nugent 4:36
  14. 13 Give Just a Little Ted Nugent 3:47

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |