Slacker Logo

Tangled Up [Bonus Tracks]

Thomas Rhett 10/28/2016


Thomas Rhett had hits off his 2013 debut It Goes Like This, but Tangled Up, its 2015 successor, feels like the album where the singer/songwriter comes into his own by borrowing moves from fellow country bros Florida Georgia Line and Sam Hunt. Rhett wrote for FGL -- specifically, the hit "Round Here" -- but Tangled Up is by no means as aggressively macho as that duo. It capitalizes on Rhett's soulful streak -- strip away the 21st century consumerism and "Die a Happy Man" easily could've come out of Muscle Shoals in the late '60s -- and also his humor and his allegiance to good times that don't necessarily come from either a honky tonk or a sports bar. Rhett displays an omnivorous cultural appetite that shows he's a millennial: underneath his acoustic guitars are lightly looped beats, but he's also just as likely to push disco to the forefront, as he does on "I Feel Good" and a title track that's happily a glitter ball throwback. Rhett may switch on a Totally '80s Flashback weekend when he's chilling out, but he's a modern guy, dropping passing allusions to Guns N' Roses and Third Eye Blind, hoisting Solo cups filled with Bud Light Lime and splashes of liquor in coconut water, aware that his excursions in neo-disco may bring Michael Jackson to mind but they also sound a bit like Sam Hunt or the Weeknd. By playing both sides of the fence, Rhett may be a bit of an opportunist, but as his hit "Crash and Burn" indicates, there's a sly charm to his eager-to-please modern country: he's a true pop artist, harnessing the trends of his time and turning them into music that's hard to resist. [A 2016 release of Tangled Up added five bonus tracks.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Anthem Thomas Rhett 3:13
  3. 2 Crash and Burn Thomas Rhett 3:9
  4. 3 South Side Thomas Rhett 2:50
  5. 4 Die a Happy Man Thomas Rhett 3:46
  6. 5 Vacation Thomas Rhett 3:41
  7. 6 Like It's the Last time Thomas Rhett 3:8
  8. 7 T-Shirt Thomas Rhett 3:46
  9. 8 Single Girl Thomas Rhett 3:15
  10. 9 The Day You Stop Looking Back Thomas Rhett 3:22
  11. 10 Tangled Thomas Rhett 3:29
  12. 11 Playing With Fire Thomas Rhett 3:24
  13. 12 I Feel Good Thomas Rhett 3:14
  14. 13 Learned It from the Radio Thomas Rhett 3:37
  15. 14 Star of the Show Thomas Rhett 2:59
  16. 15 American Spirit Thomas Rhett 3:36
  17. 16 Background Music Thomas Rhett 2:47
  18. 17 Playing with Fire Danielle Bradbery 3:23
  19. 18 Die a Happy Man [The Remix] Thomas Rhett 3:27

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |