Slacker Logo

All Eyez on Me

2Pac 3/6/2001


Maybe it was his time in prison, or maybe it was simply his signing with Suge Knight's Death Row label. Whatever the case, 2Pac re-emerged hardened and hungry with All Eyez on Me, the first double-disc album of original material in hip-hop history. With all the controversy surrounding him, 2Pac seemingly wanted to throw down a monumental epic whose sheer scope would make it an achievement of itself. But more than that, it's also an unabashed embrace of the gangsta lifestyle, backing off the sober self-recognition of Me Against the World. Sure, there are a few reflective numbers and dead-homiez tributes, but they're much more romanticized this time around. All Eyez on Me is 2Pac the thug icon in all his brazen excess, throwing off all self-control and letting it all hang out -- even if some of it would have been better kept to himself. In that sense, it's an accurate depiction of what made him such a volatile and compelling personality, despite some undeniable filler. On the plus side, this is easily the best production he's ever had on record, handled mostly by Johnny J (notably on the smash "How Do U Want It") and Dat Nigga Daz; Dr. Dre also contributes another surefire single in "California Love" (which, unfortunately, is present only as a remix, not the original hit version). Both hits are on the front-loaded first disc, which would be a gangsta classic in itself; other highlights include the anthemic Snoop Dogg duet "2 of Amerikaz Most Wanted," "All About U" (with the required Nate Dogg-sung hook), and "I Ain't Mad at Cha," a tribute to old friends who've gotten off the streets. Despite some good moments, the second disc is slowed by filler and countless guest appearances, plus a few too many thug-lovin' divas crooning their loyalty. Erratic though it may be, All Eyez on Me is nonetheless carried off with the assurance of a legend in his own time, and it stands as 2Pac's magnum opus. ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Ambitionz Az a Ridah 2Pac 4:38
  3. 2 All Bout U 2Pac 4:36
  4. 3 Skandalouz 2Pac 4:8
  5. 4 Got My Mind Made Up 2Pac 5:12
  6. 5 How Do U Want It 2Pac 4:46
  7. 6 2 of Amerikaz Most Wanted 2Pac 4:5
  8. 7 No More Pain 2Pac 6:14
  9. 8 Heartz of Men 2Pac 4:39
  10. 9 Life Goes On 2Pac 5:0
  11. 10 Only God Can Judge Me 2Pac 4:55
  12. 11 Tradin War Stories 2Pac 5:28
  13. 12 California Love [Remix] 2Pac 6:25
  14. 13 I Ain't Mad at Cha 2Pac 4:52
  15. 14 What'z Ya Phone No. 2Pac 5:7
  16. 1 Can't C Me 2Pac 5:30
  17. 2 Shorty Wanna Be a Thug 2Pac 3:51
  18. 3 Holla at Me 2Pac 4:54
  19. 4 Wonda Why They Call U B____ 2Pac 4:18
  20. 5 When We Ride 2Pac 5:9
  21. 6 Thug Passion 2Pac 5:7
  22. 7 Picture Me Rollin' 2Pac 5:15
  23. 8 Check Out Time 2Pac 4:39
  24. 9 Ratha Be Ya N____ 2Pac 4:14
  25. 10 All Eyez on Me 2Pac 5:8
  26. 11 Run tha Streetz 2Pac 5:16
  27. 12 Ain't Hard 2 Find 2Pac 4:28
  28. 13 Heaven Ain't Hard 2 Find 2Pac 3:57

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |