Slacker Logo



Other albums by Alex Smoke

Alex Smoke 31/0/2005


On the merits of his drum programming alone, Glasgow-based techno producer Alex Smoke makes excellent techno for both listening and moving. His light and wiggly drum patterns are matched up against bubbling bloops and melodic bleeps -- and this is the sort of stuff that has driven listeners into the arms of classic Detroit techno composers like Carl Craig and new-school minimal romantics like Ricardo Villalobos. But what really sets this debut apart is the profound melancholy Smoke adds to the mix, whether through a mournful string line ("Lost in Sound") or a distant echoing robot whisper ("No Consequences"). "Don't See the Point" takes an elliptical buzzing and slowly evolves it to a multi-note melody counterpointed against more distant vocals and curling synth notes, while "Brian's Lung" bridges the gap between playful rave stabs and the jumping microhouse clip-clop familiar to fans of Akufen and the like. This sort of pan-generational rave technique (hard to believe there are now multiple techno generations) is equally evident in the tranced-out synths and galloping beat of "Chica Wappa [Mejor Edit]." At any given point sounding like the best in classic European electronica and contemporary minimalism, Alex Smoke has made an album difficult to date, and equally difficult to turn off. ~ Joshua Glazer
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Intro Alex Smoke 0:32
  3. 2 6AM Alex Smoke 6:6
  4. 3 Lost in Sound Alex Smoke 5:26
  5. 4 No Consequence Alex Smoke 6:26
  6. 5 Coda & Clang Alex Smoke 3:25
  7. 6 Don't See the Point Alex Smoke 5:20
  8. 7 Jah Future Alex Smoke 6:25
  9. 8 OK Alex Smoke 6:43
  10. 9 Chica Wappa [Mejor Edit] Alex Smoke 7:2
  11. 10 Nuance Alex Smoke 2:50
  12. 11 Ditto Alex Smoke 3:42
  13. 12 Brian's Lung Alex Smoke 5:5
  14. 13 Passing Through Alex Smoke 4:29
  15. 14 Recess Alex Smoke 3:54

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |