Slacker Logo


Buckcherry 4/11/2006


A few months before the release of Buckcherry's long-awaited sophomore album, the national press proclaimed that classic rock was back, as if rock -- classic or otherwise -- had ever gone away. Buckcherry most definitely had, though, for four long years, and the group that returned sported three different members than the one that had left. But their timing was impeccable, as evidenced by the success of "Crazy Bitch," a taster for this set. The thundering "Bitch" has a decidedly Aerosmith feel, not surprising when you discover that band's producer Marti Frederiksen co-wrote one of the numbers within 15, the lavish power ballad "Sorry." "Carousel" also echoes with sounds of the past, and is hands down the best song Rod Stewart and the Faces never wrote but should have, with guitar solos that reverberate of Ron Wood and a gorgeous melody that grasps your heart and never lets go. And then there's the tasty country-fried blues of..."Brooklyn"? Sure, why not? There are rednecks in the Big Apple, too, but who knew you could hear such mean slide guitar and great bluesy riffs in that borough? Moving forward in time, "Everything" boasts some ringing U2-ish guitar, but the song itself has a much more '90s alterna-rock feel, one of several tracks that fall into the now well-missed genre. And at the far end of the spectrum comes the likes of "So Far" and "Broken Glass," the former a storming hard rocker, the latter pushing toward hardcore, both perfectly bookending this stunning set. So no matter how you like your rock served up, Buckcherry dish it with delight, and you'll be wolfing it down and demanding more. ~ Jo-Ann Greene
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 So Far Buckcherry 3:17
  3. 2 Next 2 You Buckcherry 3:26
  4. 3 Out of Line Buckcherry 4:21
  5. 4 Everything Buckcherry 4:22
  6. 5 Carousel Buckcherry 4:29
  7. 6 Sorry Buckcherry 3:44
  8. 7 Crazy Bitch Buckcherry 3:19
  9. 8 Onset Buckcherry 3:34
  10. 9 Sunshine Buckcherry 4:10
  11. 10 Brooklyn Buckcherry 3:57
  12. 11 Broken Glass Buckcherry 3:29

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |