Slacker Logo

Collie Buddz

Collie Buddz 7/3/2007


When Collie Buddz's debut single, "Come Around," came around, it catapulted this unknown white Bermudian into the Jamaican dance hall charts by first conquering Europe and then making an impression on American urban radio. It usually doesn't work like that, but this "Legalize It" for the Beenie Man and Akon generation was so instantly infectious and gloriously speaker-rumbling that the sometimes fickle JA dancehall massive had to let this outsider in. With his debut album, Buddz proves he deserves it. This is partially due to the way he rides the seemingly impossible jumble of genres his showcase of a debut throws at him. The Shakira-flavored "Mamacita" lives a couple doors down from the bravado-driven street track "Defend Your Own" featuring rapper Krayzie Bone, while further down the road there's the righteous roots number "Let Me Know," produced by the tasteful choice of reggae stalwart Bobby Konders. Then there's the David Bowie "Let's Dance" sample that figures into the wicked ragga of "My Everything" and the almost too polished and pop "Tomorrow's Another Day," which could have been pure syrup in someone else's hands. Wherever the music goes, Buddz is always Buddz, with island soul and convincing delivery, like a more punkish Sean Paul with traces of Anthony B. and Damien Marley. His lyrics are right there, too, be it a swaggering club track or a plaintive plea for social justice. This ambitious whirlwind falls into place after a couple listens as any lack of focus is forgotten, thanks to the many great tunes and the exciting, hungry, and extremely talented man who anchors it all. ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Come Around Collie Buddz 3:41
  3. 2 Blind to You Collie Buddz 3:46
  4. 3 Defend Your Own Collie Buddz 3:55
  5. 4 Tomorrow's Another Day Collie Buddz 3:14
  6. 5 Mamacita Collie Buddz 3:13
  7. 6 Wild Out Collie Buddz 2:35
  8. 7 Lonely Collie Buddz 3:4
  9. 8 What a Feeling Collie Buddz 4:29
  10. 9 Movin' On Collie Buddz 3:37
  11. 10 Sensimillia Collie Buddz 3:27
  12. 11 Let Me Know Collie Buddz 3:4
  13. 12 My Everything Collie Buddz 2:42
  14. 13 Love Deh Collie Buddz 3:4

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |