Slacker Logo

Nothing But the Beat

David Guetta 8/29/2011


French DJ David Guetta’s R&B-meets-house formula had topped the charts around the globe by the time his 2011 effort, Nothing But the Beat, saw release, so it shouldn’t be surprising that this star-studded collection of big-room tunes plays like a hits collection. His previous album, One Love, felt the same way, with every track a potential single, but the differences are in each album’s appropriate title. This one plays like Now That’s What I Call Guetta 2, with Snoop Dogg acting as an avenging disco Doggfather on the Auto-Tuned “Sweat,” while Nicki Minaj does a pole dance on the operating table for “Turn Me On,” which turns a doctor visit into double entendre overflow. Jennifer Hudson guests on the cut “Night of Your Life,” making it the diva uplift track you’d expect from such a title, and Sia’s “Titanium” is a decent stab at Coldplay-for-the-house-music set. But something’s missing, something along the lines of “When Love Takes Over.” Without that soulful kind of anchor, Nothing But the Beat offers the same experience as one of Guetta’s numerous remix sets, which is a compliment if you’re a dancefloor and a caution if you’re a pair of headphones. ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Where Them Girls At David Guetta 3:29
  3. 2 Little Bad Girl David Guetta 3:10
  4. 3 Turn Me On David Guetta 3:20
  5. 4 Sweat [Remix] David Guetta 3:15
  6. 5 Without You David Guetta 3:28
  7. 6 Nothing Really Matters David Guetta 3:40
  8. 7 I Can Only Imagine David Guetta 3:29
  9. 8 Crank It Up David Guetta 3:13
  10. 9 I Just Wanna F. David Guetta 3:24
  11. 10 Lunar David Guetta 5:17
  12. 11 Night of Your Life David Guetta 3:42
  13. 12 Repeat David Guetta 3:26
  14. 13 Titanium David Guetta 4:2

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |