Slacker Logo

Live in Berlin

Depeche Mode 11/17/2014


The saying "never trust a synth pop band over 30" goes out the window as the arena-filling Depeche Mode present the 2014 film Live in Berlin, a career-spanning set that breathes new life into old numbers, while tackling new tunes with the same power and commitment. Thank lead singer and hyped showman David Gahan for all the power, as on this soundtrack, he growls, cries out, and full-bodied croons these soul-bearing lyrics, including the Delta Machine newbie "Should Be Higher," which soars about three or four stories higher that its studio version. Gahan takes the verses as if he's Leonard Cohen, and then belts the chorus like he's Freddie Mercury crossed with Trent Reznor, but in the case of fan favorite "Enjoy the Silence," he's often off the mike, allowing the audience to take over the singing with a couple "come on!"'s in support. The first disc's "Black Celebration" and "But Not Tonight" preview the second disc's absolute overflow of classic chestnuts, up to and including the early hit "Just Can't Get Enough," which is reborn as a roto-tom-fueled stadium anthem. Those who don't like their Depeche so "big" and "rawk!" can skip it, but fans looking to celebrate some 34 years of dancing with the dour get to do so thanks to Live in Berlin, with their fists high in the air. ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Welcome to My World Depeche Mode 6:41
  3. 2 Angel Depeche Mode 4:19
  4. 3 Walking in My Shoes Depeche Mode 6:34
  5. 4 Precious Depeche Mode 5:3
  6. 5 Black Celebration Depeche Mode 4:34
  7. 6 Should Be Higher Depeche Mode 5:52
  8. 7 Policy of Truth Depeche Mode 5:27
  9. 8 The Child Inside Depeche Mode 4:21
  10. 9 But Not Tonight Depeche Mode 6:49
  11. 10 Heaven Depeche Mode 4:13
  12. 11 Soothe My Soul Depeche Mode 7:11
  13. 1 A Pain That I'm Used To Depeche Mode 4:28
  14. 2 A Question of Time Depeche Mode 4:25
  15. 3 Enjoy the Silence Depeche Mode 7:27
  16. 4 Personal Jesus Depeche Mode 8:42
  17. 5 Shake the Disease Depeche Mode 4:59
  18. 6 Halo Depeche Mode 4:53
  19. 7 Just Can't Get Enough Depeche Mode 6:4
  20. 8 I Feel You Depeche Mode 6:48
  21. 9 Never Let Me Down Again Depeche Mode 7:31
  22. 10 Goodbye Depeche Mode 5:31

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |