Slacker Logo

I Just Want to Make Love to You

Etta James 31/3/2012


Although her first R&B hits came with Modern Records in the late 1950s, Etta James didn't hit her creative and commercial peak until she arrived at Chess Records in 1960, and she remained with the label through 1978, before moving on to track with Elektra, Island, MCA, and Verve before her death early in 2012. This set includes sides James cut with Chess in 1960 and 1961, including the entire At Last LP (the songs here are arranged chronologically as she recorded them, so the At Last album, although all the tracks are here, doesn't play in the original running order), which means such classic James performances on "All I Could Do Was Cry," "Spoonful" (a duet with Harvey Fuqua), and her signature "At Last" are collected here. At 23 tracks, this is hardly the whole James story, and it isn't even close to the whole story at Chess Records, either, for that matter, but it does spotlight James arguably at or near her peak as a recording artist, and her long stay with the Chess label would prove to be her most productive and defining period as a singer. ~ Steve Leggett
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Girl of My Dreams (Boy of My Dreams) Etta James 2:20
  3. 2 All I Could Do Was Cry Etta James 2:54
  4. 3 Tough Mary Etta James 2:22
  5. 4 My Dearest Darling Etta James 2:59
  6. 5 Let Me Know Etta James 3:2
  7. 6 I Just Want to Make Love to You Etta James 3:4
  8. 7 If I Can't Have You Etta James 2:54
  9. 8 My Heart Cries Etta James 2:32
  10. 9 Plum Nuts Etta James 3:2
  11. 10 Spoonful Etta James 2:46
  12. 11 It's a Crying Shame Etta James 2:50
  13. 12 Nobody But You Etta James 2:18
  14. 13 I'll Dry My Tears Etta James 2:39
  15. 14 Seven Day Fool Etta James 2:58
  16. 15 Anything to Say You're Mine Etta James 2:33
  17. 16 In My Diary Etta James 2:33
  18. 17 You Can Count on Me Etta James 2:33
  19. 18 A Sunday Kind of Love Etta James 3:15
  20. 19 At Last Etta James 2:58
  21. 20 Stormy Weather Etta James 3:6
  22. 21 Trust in Me Etta James 2:57
  23. 22 Don't Cry Baby Etta James 2:21
  24. 23 Fool That I Am Etta James 2:55

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |