Slacker Logo

Can't Say I Ain't Country



Florida Georgia Line begins Can't Say I Ain't Country -- their fourth album and the one following "Meant to Be," their record-smashing 2017 crossover hit duet with Bebe Rexha -- with country comedian Brother Jervel ranting about how Tyler Hubbard is still country despite the fact that Tyler Hubbard's got himself a Tesla. Hubbard and his partner Brian Kelley follow Jervel's babble with "Can't Say I Ain't Country," which spins this sentiment into something funnier and hookier, not to mention a whole lot less defensive than the opening skit. Defensiveness doesn't suit the easy-rolling Florida Georgia Line, not when they're the biggest thing in country music in 2019 -- so big, they're essentially pop stars. Ever since their debut, FGL have courted that audience -- think of the Nelly remix of "Cruise" -- but Can't Say I Ain't Country finds the tables turning: now pop comes to the duo instead of the reverse. Bebe Rexha may not be found here, but R&B crooner Jason Derulo is, singing a valentine to "Women" -- no specific woman, they love them all -- a sign of how Can't Say I Ain't Country trades upon a pancultural pop that could easily slide onto any play list you'd like. Despite this deliberate amorphous sound, there's a reason why FGL front-loads Can't Say I Ain't Country with a preemptive protest of their country roots, then peppers the album with odes to small towns and good old boys. Sometimes, this can cause a political dissonance; when they're palling around with Jason Aldean, they brag that you "Can't Hide Red," but left to their own devices, they're sentimental saps, singing "this whole world would be a whole lot better place if we all just embrace the fact that people are different." Set this aside, and Can't Say I Ain't Country is a successful blend of the cosmopolitan and country, sounding as assured on soulful slow jams and percolating crossover pop as it does on the breakneck twang of "Y'all Boys," a duet with their protégé HARDY. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Tyler Got Him a Tesla [Skit] Florida Georgia Line 0:41
  3. 2 Can't Say I Ain't Country Florida Georgia Line 2:56
  4. 3 Simple Florida Georgia Line 3:4
  5. 4 Talk You Out of It Florida Georgia Line 3:19
  6. 5 All Gas No Brakes Florida Georgia Line 0:46
  7. 6 Speed of Love Florida Georgia Line 2:32
  8. 7 Women Florida Georgia Line 3:28
  9. 8 People Are Different Florida Georgia Line 3:33
  10. 9 Told You Florida Georgia Line 3:57
  11. 10 Sack'a Puppies Florida Georgia Line 0:40
  12. 11 Y'all Boys Florida Georgia Line 2:32
  13. 12 Small Town Florida Georgia Line 3:15
  14. 13 Sittin' Pretty Florida Georgia Line 3:5
  15. 14 Catfish Nuggets Florida Georgia Line 0:50
  16. 15 Can't Hide Red Florida Georgia Line 3:0
  17. 16 Colorado Florida Georgia Line 2:54
  18. 17 Like You Never Had It Florida Georgia Line 2:56
  19. 18 Swerve Florida Georgia Line 3:20
  20. 19 Blessings Florida Georgia Line 3:16

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |