Slacker Logo

Half a Boy/Half a Man


Other albums by George Thorogood & the Destroyers

  1. Move It on Over
  2. Boogie People
  3. Live
  4. George Thorogood & the Destroyers
  5. Bad to the Bone


Capitol/EMI finally dropped George Thorogood after 1997's Rockin' My Life Away stiffed, so where else was there for him to go than CMC International, the label that doesn't care if their artists keep remaking the same record for years on end? That's exactly where Thorogood and his Destroyers landed in 1998 and they released their first record for the label, Half a Boy, Half a Man, the following spring. Not surprisingly, there are no surprises anywhere on the album, unless you count the fact that it was a good idea for him to tackle Nick Lowe's great rocker "Half a Boy, Half a Man." No, the album serves up the blooze-n-boogie that Thorogood fans love and his detractors have come to despise. The difference is, Terry Manning's production keeps things moving, resulting in his liveliest record in nearly a decade. Unfortunately, the album isn't blessed with the strong material that characterized Rockin' My Life Away, but that album didn't have the raw, visceral edge that this album does. And when it comes to rockin' blues, sometimes it's better to have better sound than better songs. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 I Don't Trust Nobody George Thorogood & the Destroyers 5:2
  3. 2 Double Shot George Thorogood 3:12
  4. 3 99 Days in Jail George Thorogood 3:53
  5. 4 Half a Boy, Half a Man George Thorogood 3:28
  6. 5 As Long as I Have You George Thorogood 4:4
  7. 6 B.I.G.T.I.M.E. George Thorogood 3:7
  8. 7 Be Bop Grandma George Thorogood 3:58
  9. 8 Nothing New George Thorogood 3:24
  10. 9 Just Passin' Thru George Thorogood 4:43
  11. 10 Hellbound Train (Downbound Train) George Thorogood 4:56
  12. 11 Not Tonight, I Have a Headache George Thorogood & the Destroyers 3:22

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |