Slacker Logo

All the Love: The Lost Atlantic Recordings

Jackie DeShannon 7/14/2017


The 2015 Real Gone Music anthology All the Love: The Lost Atlantic Recordings brings together all of singer/songwriter Jackie DeShannon's 1973 recordings for Atlantic. Best known for such hits as "What the World Needs Now" and "Put a Little Love in Your Heart," DeShannon was an adept performer whose career bridged the gap between the fun-loving pop of the '50s, the socially aware folk of the '60s, and the reflective country and soul of the '70s. These cuts are recordings DeShannon made on the heels of her 1972 Atlantic debut, Jackie. Produced by Tom Dowd, the cuts have remained largely unreleased save for inclusions on the 2003 Rhino reissue of Jackie. Here, we get all of her 1973 sessions with Dowd, including four rarely heard compositions DeShannon wrote with Van Morrison, who also appears on the tracks. As with Jackie, these sessions found DeShannon and Dowd continuing in a rootsy country and folk vibe, but also expanding their approach to encompass such sounds as blue-eyed soul, AM pop, and gospel. Dowd had already helmed similar productions for such icons as Aretha Franklin and the Allman Brothers and here, he brought in songs by such like-minded talents a Fleetwood Mac's Christine McVie, Bob Dylan, and longtime DeShannon collaborator/songwriter Donna Weiss. Dowd, DeShannon, and engineer Keith Olsen also set aside some of the more grandiose production flourishes of Jackie, such as orchestral strings, choosing instead a loose, soulfully fertile, small group approach accented by twangy guitars and a resonant, shimmery organ. While DeShannon never had as robust a voice as contemporaries like Dusty Springfield, or the commercial success of such similarly inclined artists as Linda Ronstadt, she had a soft, earthy sweetness all her own, as evidenced on All the Love: The Lost Atlantic Recordings. ~ Matt Collar
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 When I'm Gone Jackie DeShannon 2:32
  3. 2 Drift Away Jackie DeShannon 2:37
  4. 3 All the Love That's in You Jackie DeShannon 2:9
  5. 4 Speak Out to Me Jackie DeShannon 3:1
  6. 5 Hydra Jackie DeShannon 2:55
  7. 6 Your Old Lady's Leaving Jackie DeShannon 2:21
  8. 7 Grand Canyon Blues Jackie DeShannon 2:47
  9. 8 Sweet Soul Singer Jackie DeShannon 2:32
  10. 9 Good Old Song Jackie DeShannon 2:34
  11. 10 Easy Evil Jackie DeShannon 2:51
  12. 11 If You Like My Music Jackie DeShannon 2:20
  13. 12 Free the People Jackie DeShannon 2:39
  14. 13 Spare Me a Little of Your Love Jackie DeShannon 2:49
  15. 14 Don't Think Twice, It's Alright Jackie DeShannon 4:40
  16. 15 Sweet Sixteen Jackie DeShannon 3:20
  17. 17 Sante Fe Jackie DeShannon 3:56

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |