Slacker Logo

My World 2.0

Justin Bieber 3/23/2010


Within two months of release, My World went platinum and two of its singles hit the Top 20, making Justin Bieber an almost inescapable teen pop phenomenon. This ten-song disc, which follows its seven-song predecessor by just over four months, is intended to be the second half of his debut rather than a true follow-up. It’s a shrewd ploy that benefits his insatiable following -- much of which could be into something else by 2011-2012 -- and, in turn, his sales. The two releases are certainly of a piece, filled with upbeat R&B-flavored pop songs with a few ballads that might be termed adult contemporary if the singer happened to be of age. Bieber makes all the right, charming moves for a teen, and he covers all the bases. The dance-pop songs are light on the ears yet memorable; the unrequited material sounds deeply felt; the ballads have all the necessary us-against-the-world teen-love dramatics (though the references in “Stuck in the Moment,” featuring Bonnie & Clyde and Sonny & Cher among other doomed couples, make zero sense on a song voiced by a peppy 16-year-old in 2010). As with My World, everything is age-appropriate. “She says she needs a little company,” sung with the slightest wink in the eye, is as racy as it gets, and even then, Bieber projects an image that is utterly harmless. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Baby Justin Bieber 3:32
  3. 2 Somebody to Love Justin Bieber 3:38
  4. 3 Stuck in the Moment Justin Bieber 3:40
  5. 4 U Smile Justin Bieber 3:15
  6. 5 Runaway Love Justin Bieber 3:30
  7. 6 Never Let You Go Justin Bieber 4:22
  8. 7 Overboard Justin Bieber 4:10
  9. 8 Eenie Meenie Justin Bieber 3:20
  10. 9 Up Justin Bieber 3:53
  11. 10 That Should Be Me Justin Bieber 3:48

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |