Slacker Logo

Minutes to Midnight

Linkin Park 5/15/2007


Damned if they do, damned if they don't -- that was the conundrum facing Linkin Park when it came time to deliver Minutes to Midnight, their third album. It had been four years since their last, 2003's Meteora, which itself was essentially a continuation of the rap-rock of their 2000 debut, Hybrid Theory, the blockbuster that was one of the biggest rock hits of the new millennium. On that album, Linkin Park sounded tense and nervous, they sounded wiry -- rap-rock without the maliciousness that pulsed through mock-rockers like Limp Bizkit. Linkin Park seemed to come by their alienation honestly, plus they had hooks and a visceral power that connected with millions of listeners, many of whom who were satisfied by the familiarity of Meteora. They may have been able to give their fans more of the same on their sophomore effort, but Linkin Park couldn't do the same thing on their third record: they would seem like one-trick ponies, so they'd be better off to acknowledge their advancing age and try to mature, or broaden their sonic palette. Yet like many other hard rockers, they were the kind of band whose audience either didn't want change or outgrew the group -- and considering that it had been a full seven years between Hybrid Theory and Minutes to Midnight, many fans who were on the verge of getting their driver's license in 2000 were now leaving college and, along with it, adolescent angst. So, Linkin Park decided to embrace the inevitable and jumped headfirst into maturity on Minutes to Midnight, which meant that poor Mike Shinoda is effectively benched, rapping on just two songs. In many ways, it seems like even the guitarists are benched this time around, since Minutes to Midnight doesn't really rock, it broods. Apart from a handful of ringers -- "Given Up," the Shinoda-fueled "Bleed It Out," easily the best, most visceral track here -- this is quiet, atmospheric stuff. Linkin Park have the chops to rock, and when they deign to do so on Minutes to Midnight they sound comfortable. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Wake Linkin Park 1:41
  3. 2 Given Up Linkin Park 3:8
  4. 3 Leave out All the Rest Linkin Park 3:29
  5. 4 Bleed It Out Linkin Park 2:44
  6. 5 Shadow of the Day Linkin Park 4:49
  7. 6 What I've Done Linkin Park 3:23
  8. 7 Hands Held High Linkin Park 3:51
  9. 8 No More Sorrow Linkin Park 3:42
  10. 9 Valentine's Day Linkin Park 3:15
  11. 10 In Between Linkin Park 3:15
  12. 11 In Pieces Linkin Park 3:37
  13. 12 The Little Things Give You Away Linkin Park 6:18

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |