Slacker Logo

Don't Come Home a Drinkin' (With Lovin' on Your Mind)



The title track was one of those defining songs for Loretta Lynn, not only one of the best but one of the most likeable country & western artists. She bats one home run after another in these vocals, singing her brains out and coming across as totally convincing in each role she takes on. The cynical "I Got Caught" is one of her finer originals, while she also has the knack of picking covers that suit her perfectly, such as "The Shoe Goes on the Other Foot Tonight" by the underrated Buddy Mize. No country fan will mind that she covers a number by her old sidekick, Ernest Tubb. Then there's the pickers who came along for the ride, totally tearing it up. The series of lead guitar/pedal steel interchanges that run through this album are certainly more attractive than the Nashville freeway system, and definitely contributed more to 20th century civilization. Lynn would later record the song "You're Lookin' at Country," and that pretty much sums up the view of this mighty lady. This here is stone-cold country, and it doesn't get much better. ~ Eugene Chadbourne
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Don't Come Home a Drinkin' (With Lovin' on Your Mind) Loretta Lynn 2:6
  3. 2 I Really Don't Want to Know Loretta Lynn 2:54
  4. 3 Tommorow Never Comes Loretta Lynn 2:48
  5. 4 There Goes My Everything Loretta Lynn 2:45
  6. 5 The Shoe Goes on the Other Foot Tonight Loretta Lynn 2:11
  7. 6 Saint to Sinner Loretta Lynn 2:28
  8. 7 The Devil Gets His Dues Loretta Lynn 2:12
  9. 8 I Can't Keep Away from You Loretta Lynn 1:55
  10. 9 I'm Living in Two Worlds Loretta Lynn 2:42
  11. 10 Get What 'Cha Got and Go Loretta Lynn 1:55
  12. 11 Making Plans Loretta Lynn 2:24
  13. 12 I Got Caught Loretta Lynn 2:1

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |