Slacker Logo

En Espana/Grandes Exitos en Espanol

Matt Monro 5/15/2007


This EMI Gold two-fer assembles a pair of unusual but effective 1970 LPs by the crooner Matt Monro. Monro sings in Spanish for En España, and what's most impressive is how seamlessly he translates his signature subtlety and expressiveness to a tongue other than his own. Monro's elemental interpretive genius achieves new heights here -- sure, he knows these songs, but he's approaching them from new and unfamiliar angles, and yet their meaning and spirit resonate with absolute clarity regardless of language. The material itself spans from contemporary pop hits ("No Me Pesa, Es Mi Hermano," aka "He's Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother") to Broadway favorites ("Sueño Imposible," aka "The Impossible Dream") to standards ("La Sombra de Tu Sonrisa," aka "The Shadow of Your Smile"), but Monro makes all the songs his own -- a commendable feat. Monro recorded Spanish-language renditions of his biggest hits and traditional favorites throughout the course of his career, and Grandes Exitos en Español assembles these stray singles, B-sides, and album cuts in one place. Despite its patchwork origins, the record proves a surprisingly cohesive and engaging listen. Monro's natural feel for the Spanish language is undeniably impressive -- he brings to material like "No Puedo Quitar Mis Ojos de Ti" ("Can't Take My Eyes Off You") and "Que Tiempo Tan Feliz" ("Those Were the Days") the same maturity and thoughtfulness that underscore his English-language sessions, singing with the painterly grace of one with complete understanding of a lyric's emotional impact, even if the words themselves originate from a foreign tongue. ~ Jason Ankeny
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Sueno Imposible [The Impossible Dream] Matt Monro 2:40
  3. 2 No Me Pesa, Es Mi Hermano [He Ain't Heavy He's My Brother] Matt Monro 3:34
  4. 3 Te Esperare [I Will Wait for You] Matt Monro 2:47
  5. 4 Jean Matt Monro 2:20
  6. 5 Si Yo Fuera Carpintero [If I Were a Carpenter] Matt Monro 2:50
  7. 6 La Sombra de Tu Sonrisa (The Shadow of Your Smile) [Extra Information] Matt Monro 2:38
  8. 7 Donde Hallarse? [Where in Te World] Matt Monro 2:42
  9. 8 En Dias Como Estos [On Days Like These] Matt Monro 3:21
  10. 9 Los Dos [Two People] Matt Monro 3:35
  11. 10 Puedo Ser Feliz [You've Made Me So Very Happy] Matt Monro 3:31
  12. 11 Que Tonto Fui Matt Monro 3:9
  13. 12 La Estrella del Sur [The Southern Star] Matt Monro 2:23
  14. 13 Alugien Canto [The Music Played] Matt Monro 3:6
  15. 14 Que Tiempo Tan Feliz (Those Were the Days) [Extra Information] Matt Monro 3:37
  16. 15 Lo Que Quedo [All That Remains] Matt Monro 1:58
  17. 16 No Puedo Quitar Mis Ojos de Ti [Can't Take My Eyes off You] Matt Monro 3:30
  18. 17 Todo Pasara [Everything Will Happen] Matt Monro 3:34
  19. 18 Vete por Favor [Walk Away] Matt Monro 3:4
  20. 19 Nacida Libre [Born Free Dub Mix II] Matt Monro 2:46
  21. 20 La Montana [If She Should Come to You] Matt Monro 2:43
  22. 21 No Me Dejes [If You Go Away] Matt Monro 3:7
  23. 22 Amandote Otra Vez [Lovin' You Again] Matt Monro 2:5
  24. 23 Si Tu Te Vas [If You Go Away] Matt Monro 2:37
  25. 24 La Perla y el Rubi [The Ruby and the Pearl] Matt Monro 2:55

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |