Slacker Logo

The Truth About Love

P!nk 9/18/2012


A lot has happened to P!nk since the release of her 2008 breakup album, Funhouse, most notably a reconciliation with her estranged husband, Carey Hart, and subsequent birth of their child in 2011. P!nk wrestles with these two life-changing events and many other thorny issues on her 2012 album, The Truth About Love, a vibrant mess of a record that finds the pop star embracing every one of her contradictions. Alone among the class of 2000 -- a group that roughly includes such other new millennium stars as Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera, Mandy Moore, and Jessica Simpson -- P!nk comes across as an actual adult, eager to dive into the muck of grown-up emotions, expanding and deepening her music without succumbing to stuffy pretension. She may be deeply invested in being a wife and mother but she's keenly aware of what's happening outside of her house, offering a clever spin on Ke$ha's freak empowerment on the opening "Are We All We Are," enlisting Fun.'s Nate Ruess as a duet partner on "Just Give Me a Reason," and fiendishly stealing some of the Black Keys' moves and retailoring them for the dancefloor on "How Come You're Not Here." P!nk deftly weaves these new threads into a tapestry that contains a few of her signature moves -- there is a handful of confessional power ballads and snotty, funny pure pop disguised as dance hits -- and some surprises, including cameos from Lily Allen ("True Love") and Eminem ("Here Comes the Weekend") and a title track that is as sunny and carnivalesque as a '60s surf-pop sensation. Sometimes the transitions are too sudden, causing some aural whiplash -- that clomping, heavy "Here Comes the Weekend" wouldn't fit neatly into any sequence -- but its ragged edges underscore the essential appeal of The Truth About Love: nothing about it is neat, it shifts courses and refutes itself, it's "nasty and salty," as P!nk herself sings about true love. It's weird and willfully, proudly human, a big pop album about real emotions and one of P!nk's wildest rides. [A clean version of the disc was also released.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Are We All We Are P!nk 3:37
  3. 2 Blow Me (One Last Kiss) P!nk 4:15
  4. 3 Try P!nk 4:7
  5. 4 Just Give Me a Reason P!nk 4:1
  6. 5 True Love P!nk 3:51
  7. 6 How Come You're Not Here P!nk 3:11
  8. 7 Slut Like You P!nk 3:39
  9. 8 The Truth About Love P!nk 3:47
  10. 9 Beam Me Up P!nk 4:26
  11. 10 Walk of Shame P!nk 2:41
  12. 11 Here Comes the Weekend P!nk 4:24
  13. 12 Where Did the Beat Go? P!nk 4:15
  14. 13 The Great Escape P!nk 4:20

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |