Slacker Logo

MTV Unplugged

Ricky Martin 11/7/2006


At no point does Ricky Martin's MTV Unplugged sound like an intimate acoustic performance. Like most of the acts on MTV Unplugged since Eric Clapton's Unplugged, Martin brings in a full band, complete with electric bass and keyboards, so even if there are no electric guitars, it sounds big, full, and polished, particularly since his band is augmented by strings and horns. It may not be small-scale, the way that Unplugged was in its earliest days, but the concert does have the effect of stripping Martin back to his basics -- which means that he does no English-language pop and avoids all the silly dance-pop that became his stock-in-trade after "Livin' la Vida Loca," while also avoiding the desperate nature of his 2005 studio album Life. What's left is the power of Martin as a live performer, and he's in good form here, delivering energetic performances of the up-tempo songs and avoiding schmaltz in the ballads. It's an album for the faithful -- instead of stretching, Martin is relying on his strengths -- but it will satisfy those who still stand by Ricky Martin after all the ups and downs in his career. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Gracias por Pensar en Mí Ricky Martin 4:38
  3. 2 Con Tu Nombre Ricky Martin 4:21
  4. 3 María Ricky Martin 5:31
  5. 4 Tu Recuerdo Ricky Martin 4:8
  6. 5 Perdido Sin Ti Ricky Martin 4:27
  7. 6 Asignatura Pendiente Ricky Martin 4:20
  8. 7 Vuelve Ricky Martin 5:36
  9. 8 Lola, Lola Ricky Martin 4:20
  10. 9 Volverás Ricky Martin 5:5
  11. 10 La Bomba Ricky Martin 5:49
  12. 11 Fuego de Noche, Nieve de Día Ricky Martin 5:13
  13. 12 Pégate Ricky Martin 4:3

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |