Slacker Logo

Past Masters

The Beatles 3/7/1988


When Capitol decided to release the original British editions of the Beatles' albums instead of the bastardized American versions, they were left with a bit of a quandary. Since the Beatles had an enormous number of non-LP singles, some of their greatest hits -- from "I Want to Hold Your Hand" through "Hey Jude" -- would not be included on disc if Capitol simply served up straight reissues. They had two options: they could add the singles as bonus tracks to the appropriate CDs, or they could release a compilation of all the non-LP tracks. It should come as no surprise that they chose the latter. Over its first half, Past Masters captures the exuberance of Beatlemania while confirming the band's talents as popcraftsmen ("This Boy," "Yes It Is") and proving that they could rock really, really hard ("I Feel Fine," "She's a Woman," the peerless "I'm Down"). From 1965 on, the 15 non-LP tracks released in the last five years of the band's career (not counting the singles that were released on Magical Mystery Tour) may not be as thematically consistent, but they hit greater highs with a greater frequency. Indeed, some of the greatest singles in pop history are here: "Day Tripper," "We Can Work It Out," "Paperback Writer," "Rain," "Lady Madonna," "Hey Jude," "Revolution," "Don't Let Me Down," and "The Ballad of John and Yoko." In the middle of all this, single versions of "Get Back" and "Let It Be" appear (the former is stiffer than the LP version, the latter is better than its counterpart), along with the alternate (and superior) "Across the Universe" and the silly yet strangely irresistible "You Know My Name (Look Up the Number)." Apart from a few cuts that are merely rarities, this is a near-perfect compilation that captures the energy and spirit of the Beatles' entire career. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Love Me Do [Original Single Version] The Beatles 2:21
  3. 2 From Me to You The Beatles 1:55
  4. 3 Thank You Girl The Beatles 2:1
  5. 4 She Loves You [Mono Version] The Beatles 2:19
  6. 5 I'll Get You [Mono Version] The Beatles 2:3
  7. 6 I Want to Hold Your Hand The Beatles 2:24
  8. 7 This Boy The Beatles 2:12
  9. 8 Komm, Gib Mir Deine Hand The Beatles 2:24
  10. 9 Sie Liebt Dich The Beatles 2:17
  11. 10 Long Tall Sally The Beatles 2:1
  12. 11 I Call Your Name The Beatles 2:5
  13. 12 Slow Down The Beatles 2:53
  14. 13 Matchbox The Beatles 1:56
  15. 14 I Feel Fine The Beatles 2:16
  16. 15 She's a Woman The Beatles 3:0
  17. 16 Bad Boy The Beatles 2:18
  18. 17 Yes It Is The Beatles 2:40
  19. 18 I'm Down The Beatles 2:28
  20. 1 Day Tripper The Beatles 2:45
  21. 2 We Can Work It Out The Beatles 2:12
  22. 3 Paperback Writer The Beatles 2:15
  23. 4 Rain The Beatles 2:57
  24. 5 Lady Madonna The Beatles 2:15
  25. 6 The Inner Light The Beatles 2:33
  26. 7 Hey Jude The Beatles 7:3
  27. 8 Revolution The Beatles 3:22
  28. 9 Get Back The Beatles 3:8
  29. 10 Don't Let Me Down The Beatles 3:33
  30. 11 The Ballad of John and Yoko The Beatles 2:57
  31. 12 Old Brown Shoe The Beatles 3:16
  32. 13 Across the Universe The Beatles 3:46
  33. 14 Let It Be The Beatles 3:48
  34. 15 You Know My Name (Look Up the Number) [Mono Version] The Beatles 4:17

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |