Slacker Logo

Hot Rocks: 1964-1971


Other albums by The Rolling Stones

  1. 5 X 5
  2. Still Life
  3. Voodoo Lounge
  4. Sucking in the Seventies
  5. Come On
The Rolling Stones 8/27/2002


This two-LP set is both a lot more and a bit less than what it seems. It is seven years' worth of mostly very high-charting -- and all influential and important -- songs, leaving out some singles in favor of well-known album tracks, and in the process, giving an overview not just of the Rolling Stones' hits but of their evolving image. One hears them change from loud R&B-inspired rockers covering others' songs ("Time Is on My Side") into originators in their own right ("Satisfaction"); then into tastemakers and style-setters with a particularly decadent air ("Get Off of My Cloud," "19th Nervous Breakdown"), and finally into self-actualized rebel-poets ("Jumpin' Jack Flash," "Midnight Rambler") and Shaman-like symbols of chaos. On its initial release, Hot Rocks sold well, not only as a unique compilation but also as a panorama of the '60s. The only flaw was that it didn't give a good look at the Stones' full musical history, ignoring their early blues and psychedelic eras. There are also some anomalies in Hot Rocks' history for the collector -- the very first pressings included an outtake of "Brown Sugar" featuring Eric Clapton that was promptly replaced. This is an exciting assembly of material. ~ Bruce Eder
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Time Is on My Side The Rolling Stones 2:58
  3. 2 Heart of Stone The Rolling Stones 2:47
  4. 3 Play with Fire The Rolling Stones 2:12
  5. 4 (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction The Rolling Stones 3:40
  6. 5 As Tears Go By The Rolling Stones 2:42
  7. 6 Get Off of My Cloud The Rolling Stones 2:53
  8. 7 Mother's Little Helper The Rolling Stones 2:45
  9. 8 19th Nervous Breakdown The Rolling Stones 3:55
  10. 9 Paint It Black The Rolling Stones 3:21
  11. 10 Under My Thumb The Rolling Stones 3:40
  12. 11 Ruby Tuesday The Rolling Stones 3:15
  13. 12 Let's Spend the Night Together The Rolling Stones 3:35
  14. 1 Jumpin' Jack Flash The Rolling Stones 3:38
  15. 2 Street Fighting Man The Rolling Stones 3:12
  16. 3 Sympathy for the Devil The Rolling Stones 6:14
  17. 4 Honky Tonk Women The Rolling Stones 2:58
  18. 5 Gimme Shelter The Rolling Stones 4:28
  19. 6 Midnight Rambler The Rolling Stones 9:10
  20. 7 You Can't Always Get What You Want The Rolling Stones 7:24
  21. 8 Brown Sugar The Rolling Stones 3:48
  22. 9 Wild Horses The Rolling Stones 5:41

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |