Slacker Logo

Trilogy [Edited Version]

The Weeknd 21/1/2013


Abel Tesfaye, aka the Weeknd, released three free mixtapes, aka albums, in 2011. Trilogy compiles them with remastered sound and adds three new songs. Supported by fellow Toronto native Drake, Tesfaye surfaced that March with House of Balloons, an impressive debut that merged his paradoxical approach -- sweet voice, poisonous words -- with gloomy but entrancing productions, most of which were provided by Illangelo and Doc McKinney. The duo produced the entirety of Thursday, released that August. It offered minor variations on the debut's themes of getting laid and high through scenes of bleak malevolence. Anyone not magnetized to extended periods of intense wallowing and/or chemically-induced lethargy -- or the idea of experiencing either one of the two states -- could discern that Tesfaye could have used an editor. And then, in December, just after Drake released Take Care, an album featuring a handful of Tesfaye collaborations, Echoes of Silence completed the Weeknd trilogy in an equally excessive fashion. Emboldened by critical acclaim and an enthusiastic fan base, Tesfaye continued to find slightly different, occasionally peculiar ways of expressing unapologetically sordid feelings about drugs, partying, drugs, bad girls, drugs, strippers, drugs, good girls gone bad, and drugs -- all of which serve an identical purpose and get the same level of consideration. There are points throughout these works where Tesfaye is distinctively gripping, supplying deadly hooks and somehow singing for his life despite the cold blood flowing through his veins. When this package was released, he was gaining mainstream momentum with appearances on Drake's "Crew Love" and Wiz Khalifa's "Remember You." His potential is as obvious as his lyrics are toxic. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 High for This The Weeknd 4:7
  3. 2 What You Need The Weeknd 3:15
  4. 3 House of Balloons/Glass Table Girls [Edited Version] The Weeknd 6:45
  5. 4 The Morning [Edited Version] The Weeknd 5:11
  6. 5 Wicked Games The Weeknd 5:23
  7. 6 The Party & the After Party [Edited Version] The Weeknd 7:38
  8. 7 Coming Down The Weeknd 4:55
  9. 8 Loft Music [Edited Version] The Weeknd 6:3
  10. 9 The Knowing The Weeknd 5:38
  11. 10 Twenty Eight The Weeknd 4:17
  12. 1 Lonely Star [Edited Version] The Weeknd 5:51
  13. 2 Life of the Party The Weeknd 4:56
  14. 3 Thursday The Weeknd 5:19
  15. 4 The Zone [Edited Version] The Weeknd 6:53
  16. 5 The Birds, Pt. 1 The Weeknd 3:33
  17. 6 The Birds, Pt. 2 [Edited Version] The Weeknd 5:49
  18. 7 Gone [Edited Version] The Weeknd 8:5
  19. 8 Rolling Stone [Edited Version] The Weeknd 3:50
  20. 9 Heaven or Las Vegas The Weeknd 5:46
  21. 10 Valerie The Weeknd 4:46
  22. 1 D.D. The Weeknd 4:33
  23. 2 Montreal The Weeknd 4:11
  24. 3 Outside The Weeknd 4:19
  25. 4 XO/The Host [Edited Version] The Weeknd 4:55
  26. 5 Initiation The Weeknd 4:21
  27. 6 Same Old Song The Weeknd 5:14
  28. 7 The Fall The Weeknd 5:45
  29. 8 Next The Weeknd 6:0
  30. 9 Echoes of Silence The Weeknd 3:59
  31. 10 Till Dawn (Here Comes the Sun) The Weeknd 5:15

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |