Slacker Logo

The White House Sessions: Live 1962



Since both were performing their own sets at the White House Seminar American Jazz Concert on the Sylvan Theater grounds on August 28, 1962, Tony Bennett and Dave Brubeck decided to perform an impromptu collaborative set together that day, and although one song from it was eventually released, a version of "That Old Black Magic," the rest of the hour-or-so-long tape ended up lost in the vast Sony catalog vault, filed, as it turned out, with several classical tapes, until it surfaced again shortly after Brubeck's death in 2012. Now finally available, it reveals two master performers at the very top of their respective games. Bennett's signature song, "I Left My Heart in San Francisco," had been released only a couple of weeks before the concert, while Brubeck's "Take Five" had just begun to take on its iconic significance. Brubeck and his quartet, Paul Desmond on alto sax, Eugene Wright on bass, and Joe Morello on drums, played a four-song set, followed by a six-song set from Bennett and his band, with Ralph Sharon on piano, Hal Gaylor on bass, and Billy Exiner on drums. Then came an unrehearsed and impromptu four-song set from Bennett and Brubeck, with Wright on bass and Morello on drums (alto saxophonist Desmond sat out) that included versions of "That Old Black Magic" (the only track previously released before this), "Lullaby of Broadway," "Chicago (That Toddlin' Town)," and "There Will Never Be Another You," each of which purveys a loose, fun elegance that makes this archival find a true treasure. Bennett and Brubeck would not perform together again until both appeared and briefly reunited on-stage at the 2009 Newport Jazz Festival. ~ Steve Leggett
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Introduction Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 0:53
  3. 2 Take Five Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 5:28
  4. 3 Band Introduction Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 1:20
  5. 4 Nomad Dave Brubeck 11:10
  6. 5 Thank You Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 8:26
  7. 6 Castilian Blues Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 8:49
  8. 7 Introduction Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 0:35
  9. 8 Just in Time [From Bells Are Ringing] Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 2:0
  10. 9 Small World [From Gypsy] Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 3:0
  11. 10 Make Someone Happy [From Do Re Mi] Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 2:32
  12. 11 Rags to Riches Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 1:17
  13. 12 One for My Baby (And One More for the Road) [From The Sky's the Limit] Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 2:46
  14. 13 I Left My Heart in San Francisco Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 3:38
  15. 14 Lullaby of Broadway [From Goldiggers of 1953] Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 2:0
  16. 15 Chicago (That Toddlin' Town) Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 2:11
  17. 16 That Old Black Magic Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 3:20
  18. 17 There Will Never Be Another You [From Iceland] Tony Bennett/Dave Brubeck 3:29

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |