Slacker Logo

Rattle and Hum

U2 10/11/1988


Functioning as both the soundtrack to U2's feature film documentary and as a tentative follow-up to their career-making blockbuster, Rattle and Hum is a bit messy. A mix of live cuts and new studio tracks, the album finds U2 running wild in the aftermath of The Joshua Tree, continuing their embrace of America to the point that they adopt several classic rock moves. Specifically, they dabble in American roots rock, something they ignored before. These experiments sometimes work: "Desire" has an intoxicating Bo Diddley beat, "Angel of Harlem" is a punchy, sunny Stax soul tribute, "When Loves Come to Town" is an endearingly awkward blues duet with B.B. King, and the Dylan collaboration "Love Rescue Me" is an overlooked minor bluesy gem. These are paired with some affecting laments -- the cascading "All I Want Is You" and "Heartland," which sounds like a Joshua Tree outtake -- but Rattle and Hum is by far the least-focused record U2 ever made, leaving it to the listener to mine for the Silver & Gold within its sprawl. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Helter Skelter U2 3:8
  3. 2 Van Diemen's Land U2 3:5
  4. 3 Desire U2 2:57
  5. 4 Hawkmoon 269 U2 6:19
  6. 5 All Along the Watchtower U2 4:24
  7. 6 I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For U2 5:56
  8. 7 Freedom for My People U2 0:35
  9. 8 Silver and Gold U2 5:51
  10. 9 Pride (In the Name of Love) U2 4:25
  11. 10 Angel of Harlem U2 3:45
  12. 11 Love Rescue Me U2 6:21
  13. 12 When Love Comes to Town U2 4:9
  14. 13 Heartland U2 5:1
  15. 14 God Part II U2 3:14
  16. 15 The Star Spangled Banner Jimi Hendrix 0:43
  17. 16 Bullet the Blue Sky U2 5:36
  18. 17 All I Want Is You U2 6:28

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |