Slacker Logo

Stranger Than Fiction


Other albums by Ultra Naté

Ultra Naté 4/24/2001


Dancefloor staple Ultra Naté's fourth set employs a varied set of producers and seeks to establish the star as more than just a club singer, and, ultimately, it works. From disco to house to jazz, rock, and folk, this album incorporates a dizzying array of musical styles. Stranger Than Fiction's main drawback is that it lacks a certain cohesiveness but, other than that, it provides for an adventurous musical journey. The album opens with the slick and slinky prologue "Love Is Stranger Than Fiction" (co-written with Nona Hendryx), which also resurfaces as an epilogue, but leaves one wishing that it would have been an actual full-length song, as it is one of the album's more interesting tunes. The album proceeds into dance-oriented territory with the smooth "Ain't Looking for Nothing," the funky, gritty, vocodor-infused "Get It Up (The Feeling)," and the rock-tinged house anthem "Desire." "Dear John" recalls '70s-era disco, at times bringing to mind Love Boat-styled themes, working to fine effect. The album then glides into jazz and garage-infused territory with "Eternal" and "Twisted," and then seems to peter off with the nursery-rhymed stylings of "Breakfast for Two" and the not-so-interesting "I Don't Understand It." The album eventually picks up with the two-step garage song "Gone Like Yesterday" and the set's folky closer, "Ghost" (co-written with N'dea Davenport). As always, Ultra Naté is a skilled songwriter and delivers an album of solid, if at times noncohesive, material. Note that the superior Japanese pressing contains two bonus tracks: "Runaway" and a fantastic cover of the Bee Gees' classic "How Deep Is Your Love." ~ Jose Promis
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Love is Stranger Than Fiction (Prologue) Ultra Naté 2:32
  3. 2 Ain't Looking for Nothing Ultra Naté 5:38
  4. 3 Get It Up (The Feeling) Ultra Naté 4:28
  5. 4 Desire Ultra Naté 4:13
  6. 5 Dear John Ultra Naté 4:52
  7. 6 Eternal Ultra Naté 5:54
  8. 7 Twisted Ultra Naté 6:40
  9. 8 Pretender Ultra Naté 4:43
  10. 9 Breakfast for Two Ultra Naté 4:33
  11. 10 I Don't Understand It Ultra Naté 6:54
  12. 11 Gone Like Yesterday Ultra Naté 5:5
  13. 12 Love is Stranger Than Fiction (Epilogue) Ultra Naté 0:51
  14. 13 Ghost Ultra Naté 5:8

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |