Slacker Logo



Other albums by Various Artists

  1. Strata
Various Artists 6/30/2004


Strata garnered their share of label interest from the beginning, as the San Jose combo's post-grunge sound is quite comparable to past Cali scene successes like Trapt or Hoobastank. They eventually signed with Wind-Up, and have issued this self-titled debut. Throughout, Eric Victorino's vocals are capable of both gutsy soar and tear-choking flutter, while his mates are adept at putting a melodic face on Tool. The vague claustrophobia of Radiohead surfaces here, too, but it's usually channeled through peels of Deftones-ish distortion, ultra-clean splash cymbal drumming, and gimmicky processed vocals. (Screams seem broadcast on AM; Strata likes layering meaningful whispers underneath the main vocal.) Opener "Piece By Piece" follows this template, as do "Never There" and "You Are Eternal." Longtime Strata fans will recognize quite a bit of the material on this release, as tracks like "The Panic," "We've Changed," "Today," and "When It's All Burning" have been re-recorded from previous demos or Internet releases. And Wind-Up was nice enough to let their new signees produce their own record, even if there's a lengthy list of additional knob-twiddlers and engineers. The result is a capable slice of post-grunge rock. It's furiously midtempo, occasionally hooky, and full of punctuating drum fills and guitars that shift from pensive to powerful at the click of a foot pedal. If you like that sort of thing, and the success of Hoobastank proves many do, then Strata just might be your next crush. Buy a band-branded wristband from the enclosed merch card, and show your love. ~ Johnny Loftus
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Piece By Piece Various Artists 3:36
  3. 2 I Will Breathe Fire Various Artists 4:5
  4. 3 The Panic Various Artists 3:53
  5. 4 When It's All Burning Various Artists 4:41
  6. 5 Just Like Silk Various Artists 3:54
  7. 6 We've Changed Various Artists 4:1
  8. 7 Never There Various Artists 3:42
  9. 8 Today Various Artists 3:43
  10. 9 Trustkilltrust Various Artists 1:49
  11. 10 Waiting Various Artists 2:52
  12. 11 You Are Eternal Various Artists 3:34
  13. 12 In a Sweet Dream Various Artists 4:4

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |