Slacker Logo

The Number 1 Soul Collection


Other albums by



Of Number 1 Soul Collection's 16 tracks, only three are the original recording. The rest are re-recorded versions, which leads to some shoddy performances, but fortunately does not entirely ruin the album. Unlike so many compilations that opt for latter-day versions of hit songs, Number 1 Soul Collection includes tracks that, while definitely not the original, at least replicate the feel and groove of them. Aaron Neville's "Tell It Like It Is", Sam & Dave's "Hold On! I'm Comin'", "Knock on Wood" from Eddie Floyd are all standouts. Number 1 Soul Collection isn't an essential set by any means, and most of these songs are readily available in their original format. But it isn't bad for a budget collection, and will satisfy the casual fan who might not mind if a few of the tracks don't match the originals' intensity. ~ Johnny Loftus
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Knock on Wood Eddie Floyd 2:59
  3. 2 Sea of Love Phil Phillips 2:22
  4. 3 Hold On! I'm Comin' Sam & Dave 2:39
  5. 4 When a Man Loves a Woman Percy Sledge 2:51
  6. 5 Rescue Me Fontella Bass 2:46
  7. 6 My Guy Mary Wells 2:44
  8. 7 You'll Lose a Good Thing Barbara Lynn 2:36
  9. 8 Tell It Like It Is Aaron Neville 3:7
  10. 9 Got to Get You off My Mind Solomon Burke 2:4
  11. 10 I Know (You Don't Love Me No More) Barbara George 2:17
  12. 11 Jimmy Mack Martha & the Vandellas 2:52
  13. 12 Turn Back the Hands of Time Tyrone Davis 2:41
  14. 13 If You Don't Know Me by Now Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes 3:29
  15. 14 He Will Break Your Heart Jerry Butler 2:44
  16. 15 Let's Go, Let's Go, Let's Go Hank Ballard 2:29
  17. 16 Stand by Me Ben E. King 2:56

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |