Slacker Logo

Live from Austin TX

Willie Nelson 9/6/1990


This date from 1990 features Willie Nelson and the Family Band in fine form. Live from Austin TX reflects so many of the audience and band favorites in such a hometown setting, it would be hard to imagine it not working like a charm. According to Austin City Limits producer Terry Lickona's brief liner notes, Nelson was the first-ever guest on the public television-syndicated program back in 1974 for its pilot episode. It wouldn't matter if Nelson sang nursery rhymes in front of this audience. But it's tight and well-rehearsed, yet there's more than a degree of spontaneity here in tracks like "Stay a Little Longer," with a killer Nelson guitar break and a tough rock & roll riff in the bridge. Then there's the medley of "Funny," "Crazy," and "Night Life" that's mercurial, slippery, and a tiny bit ragged. The reading of "Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again)," here is choice, as is the live version of "Always on My Mind," a song that, remarkably, still has a lot of life in it despite its being performed countless thousands of times. The only drawback here is the sound. It's actually a bit disheartening considering how fine the performance is. One would have imagined that the sonics would have been fairly top-notch by 1990, but not so here. It's a bit flat and lifeless, kept alive only by the fiery performance of the band. Too bad. Though this is not one to recommend to someone getting started with Nelson, or a casual fan, hardcore fans will have to have this despite the shortcomings of fidelity. It's a good 'un. ~ Thom Jurek
Read More Read Less
  1. # Track Artist Length
  2. 1 Whiskey River Willie Nelson 2:33
  3. 2 Stay a Little Longer Willie Nelson 3:26
  4. 3 Good-Hearted Woman Willie Nelson 3:18
  5. 4 Funny Willie Nelson 2:21
  6. 5 Crazy Willie Nelson 1:32
  7. 6 Night Life Willie Nelson 3:32
  8. 7 If You've Got the Money I've Got the Time Willie Nelson 1:35
  9. 8 Nothing I Can Do About It Now Willie Nelson 2:49
  10. 9 Help Me Make It Through the NIght Willie Nelson 3:24
  11. 10 Me and Bobby McGee Willie Nelson 3:37
  12. 11 Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Do Again) Willie Nelson 4:37
  13. 12 Bloody Mary Morning Willie Nelson 5:23
  14. 13 Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain Willie Nelson 2:57
  15. 14 On the Road Again Willie Nelson 2:16
  16. 15 Always on My Mind Willie Nelson 3:15
  17. 16 Still Is Still Moving to Me Willie Nelson 3:18
  18. 17 Milk Cow Blues w/Shelby Lynne Willie Nelson 6:30

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |