Slacker Logo

Academy of Ancient Music



Keyboardist Christopher Hogwood established the Academy of Ancient Music in 1973, using as his model an ensemble that had been founded in 1726 to perform music that was at least 150 years old. Thus, Hogwood's orchestra was one of the first in modern times to perform Baroque works on Baroque instruments. Hogwood chose members who were not only masters of their instruments, but also scholars of performance style of the period. The orchestra quickly gained recognition for its authentic performances and recordings, or at least stirred up musicological debate. In 1978, it spawned a Classical period orchestra to perform the works of Mozart and Haydn and their contemporaries. That orchestra has recorded or taken on recording the complete symphonies of Mozart (the first such cycle on period instruments), Haydn, and Beethoven, and the complete piano concertos of Beethoven and Mozart. Recorded for Decca, these were under the direction of Hogwood, who also led recordings of Mozart's La Clemenza di Tito, Haydn's Orfeo ed Euridice, and Handel's Rinaldo, all of which were prize-winners and featured Cecilia Bartoli. In 1996, Andrew Manze was named associate director, and Paul Goodwin was named associate conductor, allowing the Academy to expand its performance schedule and begin recording for the Harmonia Mundi label. The Academy also began extending invitations to others, such as Stephen Cleobury with the Choir of King's College, Cambridge; Edward Higginbottom with the Choir of New College, Oxford; Stephen Layton with Polyphony; and Masaaki Suzuki with the Japan Bach Collegium to be guest directors, furthering the Academy's vocal and choral repertoire. Instrumentalists Giuliano Carmignola, Richard Egarr, and Pavlo Beznosiuk were also asked to guest direct. Paul Goodwin began commissioning new works specifically for the distinctive instruments of the Academy, the first being 1997's Eternity's Sunrise for voice and Baroque ensemble by John Tavener. Other commissioned works came from David Bedford; John Woolrich, whose Arcangelo for the group commemorated the 350th birthday of Arcangelo Corelli; and Thea Musgrave. Andrew Manze stepped down from his post in 2003, as the Academy celebrated its 30th anniversary. The ensemble marked the year by also celebrating the Corelli anniversary and the 60th birthday of John Tavener in special concerts, and by beginning an exploration of the music of Mendelssohn, once again expanding its musicological horizons.
Read All Read Less

Top Tracks

  1.   Track
  2.   Dance of the Blessed Spirits (Melody), arrangement (from "Orfeo ed Euridice")
  3.   Sonata à 8
  4.   Canzon No. 11, for 8 parts
  5.   Sonata à 4 for cornettino, violin, trombone, bassoon & continuo
  6.   Canzon No. 10, for 8 parts
  7.   Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme BWV 140: Recitative: So geh herein zu mir featuring Ian Bostridge
  8.   Missa brevis in A BWV 234: Christe (soprano 2/countertenor/tenor/bass) featuring Ian Bostridge
  9.   Sanctus in C BWV237 featuring King's College Choir of Cambridge
  10.   Funeral Sentences: Thou knowest, Lord Z58b featuring David Allsopp
  11.   Music for the Funeral of Queen Mary 1695: March Z860i featuring David Blackadder
  12.   Messiah, HWV 56 (1751 Version) - Part II: Aria: He was despised and rejected of men (Countertenor)
  13.   Canon and Gigue in D Major (from The Proposal)
  14.   Zadok the Priest featuring Alastair Ross
  15.   Funeral Sentences: In the midst of life Z17a featuring David Allsopp
  16.   Gloria in D Major, RV 589: I. Gloria in excelsis Deo
  17.   Messiah, HWV 56 (1751 Version) - Part I: Aria: But who may abide the day of His coming (Countertenor)
  18.   Messiah, HWV 56 (1751 Version) - Part I: Aria: The people that walked in darkness (Bass)
  19.   Love's Goddess sure was blind: Many such days featuring King's College Choir of Cambridge
  20.   Messiah, HWV 56 (1751 Version) - Part I: Chorus: His yoke is easy, His burthen is light
  21.   Love's Goddess sure was blind: Long may she reign featuring Edward Phillips
  22.   Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068: II. Air
  23.   Symphony No. 40 in G Minor, K. 550: I. Allegro molto
  24.   Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048: I. Allegro
  25.   Messiah, HWV 56: Hallelujah Chorus
See All Songs

Related Stations & Specials

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -
  • CHAT
Some UserSample Msg



Casting to |